Liu Xia’s Poem Written for her imprisoned husband Liu Xiaobo : I Am Tired

Liu Xia’s poem dated September 2016 was addressed to her imprisoned husband Liu Xiaobo.  I saw the poem on the Facebook page of Chengdu writer Liao Yiwu who now lives in Berlin.

I Am Tired

I am tired
I am tired of my white pills
I am tired of the smiles I make at you
I am tired of the toilet on the train
I am tired of what they say about you
I am tired of being tired

I am tired
I am tired of only seeing roads that I cannot go on
I am tired of filthy skies
I am tired of crying
I am tired of the so-called spotlessly clean life
I am tired of phony words

I am tired of the plants dying
I am tired of sleepless nights
I am tired of empty letterboxes
I am tired of all the scoldings
I am tired of all the months and years that I cannot speak
I am tired of those eye-catching scarlet letters on my body
I am tired of the cage
My love

I am tired

September 2016

Photo of Liu Xia’s manuscript courtesy of Liao Yiwu

Liu Xia manuscript photo
我厭倦了

我厭倦了
我厭倦了 我的白色藥片
我厭倦了 我對你的笑
我厭倦了 火車上的廁所
我厭倦了 你的名聲
我厭倦了 我的心累

我厭倦了
我厭倦了 只能看不能走的路
我厭倦了 骯髒的天空
我厭倦了 哭泣
我厭倦了 所謂一塵不染的生活
我厭倦了 虛假的語言

我厭倦了 植物死去
我厭倦了 無眠的夜晚
我厭倦了 空空的信箱
我厭倦了 所有的責罵
我厭倦了 失語的年年月月
我厭倦了 身上醒目的紅字
我厭倦了 牢籠
我的愛

我厭倦了

2016,9

About 高大伟 David Cowhig

After retirement translated, with wife Jessie, Liao Yiwu's 2019 "Bullets and Opium", and have been studying things 格物致知. Worked 25 years as a US State Department Foreign Service Officer including ten years at US Embassy Beijing and US Consulate General Chengdu and four years as a China Analyst in the Bureau of Intelligence and Research. Before State I translated Japanese and Chinese scientific and technical books and articles into English freelance for six years. Before that I taught English at Tunghai University in Taiwan for three years. And before that I worked two summers on Norwegian farms, milking cows and feeding chickens.
This entry was posted in Literature 文学, Politics 政治 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Liu Xia’s Poem Written for her imprisoned husband Liu Xiaobo : I Am Tired

  1. Liz says:

    A scarlet letter? I mean the one vivid on her body. Just a suggestion. Makes sense to me.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.