Liu Xia on Liu Xiaobo’s Medical Leave Request

From Chinese writer  廖亦武 Liao Yiwu   on Twitter and Facebook today

Many journalists have been contacting me to ask if Liu Xiaobo and his wife Liu Xia really want to go abroad for medical treatment and how they can confirm it. I keep saying it over and over but explaining it over and over has been wearing me out. Currently Liu Xiaobo and Liu Xia are under strict police control. I feel compelled to release this handwritten note from Liu Xia. I also have another handwritten note from Liu Xia addressed to the Chinese Public Security Bureau National Security Detachment asking for permission to leave China. For now, I will not be releasing that letter. Journalists and everybody please believe this: their very pressing desire is to leave China to get medical treatment. Liu Xiaobo says it is absolutely true that if he is to die, he would rather die in the West!

太多的媒体找到我,问出国就医是不是刘晓波夫妇自己的意愿,如何证实。我一再重复说过的话,我解釋得太累了。眼下,刘晓波夫妇已被严密控制,我不得已公布刘霞的手迹。我还有刘霞向国宝提出出国申请的手迹,暂时不便公布。媒体,以及大伙儿可以此为凭:出国治病是他们最迫切的心愿,劉曉波説死也要死在西方,千真万确!
I am sick of my life, this grotesque life. I want to tear the version of myself who lives this grotesque life to pieces. I long to escape.
I can hardly believe that Xiaobo agreed to leave China together with me and [my brother] Liu Hui. When he finally learned about it, he was very concerned about my illness.

I am grateful to you and to our friends for everything you’ve been doing and cannot wait to embrace you.

Liu Xia
20 April 2017

 

Liu Xia note

 

Liu Yiwu wrote in a separate posting on his Facebook page and Twitter account on June 28th that that he has just provided through an intermediary to a US government official a copy of a handwritten note that Liu Xiaobo’s wife, Liu Xia, had sent some time ago, after having discussed the matter with Liu Xiaobo to the Chinese Public Security Bureau National Security Detachment (Guobao) requesting that Liu Xiaobo be allowed to leave China to get medical treatment. Liao Yiwu has also shared those notes with the German government. He adds now the U.S., German, and Chinese governments have a copy of Liu Xia’s handwritten note.

今天早上7點鍾,電話鈴響,接著我通過一位朋友的管道,向美國政府提供了他們急需的劉霞的兩份手跡,其中一份是劉霞和劉曉波商量之後,向國保遞交的出國治病書面申請。此前數日,同樣的書面申請也送達德國政府,得到相當積極的回應。現在,美、德、中政府都有劉霞的手跡。真相是掩蓋不住了。請党国放他們一條生路吧。

About 高大伟 David Cowhig

After retirement translated, with wife Jessie, Liao Yiwu's 2019 "Bullets and Opium", and have been studying things 格物致知. Worked 25 years as a US State Department Foreign Service Officer including ten years at US Embassy Beijing and US Consulate General Chengdu and four years as a China Analyst in the Bureau of Intelligence and Research. Before State I translated Japanese and Chinese scientific and technical books and articles into English freelance for six years. Before that I taught English at Tunghai University in Taiwan for three years. And before that I worked two summers on Norwegian farms, milking cows and feeding chickens.
This entry was posted in Famous Chinese Political Court Cases 中国政治名案, Literature 文学 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.